Book Advent Calendar

With December just a few days away, I have got our box of Christmas books out of storage to put together Seth’s Book Advent Calendar. It’s the second year I’ve done it so we already have a good collection of books. Some of them are a bit young for Seth so I took those out to give to Rory, and I found a few more from our bookshelves out of various collections we have – Paddington, Thomas, Dr Seuss etc.

image

Most of our collection came from The Book People as they have some really good value themed picture book collections. I believe Usbourne do a set of 24 books especially for this purpose. I have added to ours over the years in charity shops and The Works.

Last year, I wrapped them up and Seth chose books to unwrap each night. This year, I decided to order them a bit so we’ll be starting with a few wintry ones before we get stuck into Christmas. Then in the few days before Christmas, there’ll be a couple of nativity and Father Christmas stories, finishing off on Christmas Eve with ‘A Night Before Christmas’. Our copy of this is a fabulous chunky board book that I picked up in Oxfam for £1.99 – absolute bargain but it weighs a tonne.

Needless to say, although I was supposed to be wrapping the books while I was child-free this afternoon, I spent a good amount of time reading stories. I just couldn’t resist!

image

I had a perfectly sized box that I wrapped to keep the books in and I made some labels using Seth’s crayons that were lying around in the living room, sticking them on as I went.

I am quite chuffed with the end result and it’s got me feeling a bit Christmassy! Last year was a funny one. It was the first that Seth really knew what was going on but with his baby brother arriving a few days before the main event, it was all a bit overwhelming for him, and for me too admittedly. This year is going to be amazing. I can’t wait!

image

thumbnailsize

10 thoughts on “Book Advent Calendar

  1. This is such a great idea! It really makes the Christmassy countdown all the more fun plus I love Christmas stories too. An added bonus for me 🙂 #justanotherlinky

    Like

  2. Wow. As a self confessed book worm I really want my children to find a love for stories. Albeit she is only 10month at the moment so a little young for this type of advent but I am definitely going to do this when she’s a touch older. Thanks for the idea! #justanotherlinky

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

