Alphabet Game

I play a little game at the moment with my three year old, Seth; in the car, when we have a long way to walk and I want to keep his mind off it or just when he fancies it. We started with I-Spy but he’s too good at that so we now play the alphabet game.

I go through the alphabet and he thinks of a word starting with each letter. He’s getting quite good at it, but admittedly, some words I have to give him clues or make the sounds rather than just the first letter.

We decided to jot down our latest attempt:

image
Playing Lego

Ant
Bat
Cat
Dog
Elephant
Fat
Grey
Hit
It
Jack
King
Lap
Mat
Net
Oval
Pat
Queen
Rat
Snake
Tit
Umbrella
Van
Wind
X marks the spot
Zebra

What do you think? My favourites have to be T and X. Some of the things he comes out with lately!

He was singing in the car he other day. The conversation went something like this…

imageSeth singing loudly: “You’ve got to stop, drop, cock and roll” [repeat over and over]
Me: “Seth, I think you mean rock and roll”
Seth: “No it’s stop, drop, cock and roll”
Me: “No, it’s rock and roll. Cock is like cock-a-doodle-do, alright cock (acceptable term of reference in Lancashire), you know, COCK”

Yes, that’s right, I was in the car with two children at 10am shouting ‘COCK’! Life is good!

thumbnailsize

3 thoughts on “Alphabet Game

  1. We do the alphabet game on long journeys, but it’s a variant on I-spy, so we have to spot something beginning with each letter in turn and can’t move on until we’ve spotted something. We often get stuck with I and U, and have been quite creative – inland body of water and undergrowth! Great fun when we’re going slightly mad in the car!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

