A Woodland Walk & a Witch’s Wand

Last week, Seth brought home his first ever homework from nursery. Well, not really homework, more suggestions of activities to do at home to tie in with a nursery topic. They have started a new monthly display board and will be doing different activities and artwork to tie in with books they are reading that month. They are starting with Winnie the Witch.

Seth's drawing
Winnie, Wilbur & a hang glider

I’m not really familiar with the stories. Well, I wasn’t. Seth has been drawing me pictures and telling me more and more elaborate tales involving Winnie and a cat called Wilbur that has a zig zag tail.

As an arachnophobic, I thought I would be able to deal with my fears to go on a spider hunt (one of the suggested activities) but I just couldn’t bring myself to do it. Instead, we decided upon making a wand.

Earlier this week, we pulled on our wellies and headed off into the woods to seek out a suitable wand-like stick. As both my boys have had colds, it was good to pull on our coats and get out into the fresh air. We spotted lots of Autumn colours and used our listening ears to hear lots of tweeting birds. Perfect stick found, we headed home to work some magic and make it into a wand.

Woodland walk
Walk in the woods

Seth went rooting through Rory’s toys to find one of his star-shaped stacking cups. He drew round it twice on thick cardboard and I helped him to cut them out. He taped them together with the stick in between. I gave him some kitchen foil and he wrapped up the star. I then got some purple wool out of my stash and he used it to decorate the stick, wrapping it round. I tied off the ends for him. I think he did a really good job. We took a few photos to email to nursery and then he got busy with his wand, turning us into frogs!

Witch's Wand
Making a wand
Life Unexpected
6 thoughts on “A Woodland Walk & a Witch’s Wand

  1. Brilliant! You’ll love Winnie the Witch – she was very popular in our house – great to put silly voices to when you’re reading them! It was great for us because we have one where Winnie needed to get glasses – just at the same time Alice did!

    Well done Seth on the wand x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this, what a great idea! You seem to have found the perfect stick for a witches wand. I love it when you can combine outdoors with crafts, an excellent idea.
    Thanks so much for linking up to #Whatevertheweather 🙂 x

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love Winne the Witch! It is a must read.
    That’s so cute that they have homework like this at nursery. What a great excuse for a trip outside. I must admit I wouldn’t have opted for the spider searching either. The thought of it makes me shudder.
    I love this wand though, it’s so cool!! I bet he was so proud of it. Great ideas using the stacking cup to draw around. Thank you so much for sharing this on #whatevertheweather lovely! x

    Like

Leave a Reply

