Home Grown

Last year, Glenn whipped me up some planters on my patio so I could have another go at ‘Grow Your Own’. I had a really good first year with strawberries, lettuce, leeks, tomatoes, potatoes, spring onions and cucumbers.

Home grown 2014
Home grown 2014

This year, my strawberries carried on into their second year but I decided to give the rest a rethink. I had too much that only I would eat (3 cucumbers a week was a lot to get through and by November I looked like a cherry tomato.) This year, the plan was to grow things Seth would eat too.

So back in the Spring I got Seth to plant out peas straight into the planter. I ordered broccoli plants (trees are favourite with Seth) which arrived in May.

Strawberry vodka
Strawberry vodka

It was a bumper year for strawberries. When I bought them last year, they were a set of varieties that were assured to give us fruit all summer. It worked in year one but this year, they all came at once. We were overrun. We couldn’t keep up with eating them and I couldn’t give them away fast enough. Read my blog here about how I used them up making strawberry vodka. Next year I’m going to be more prepared and will attempt to make jam.

Our peas did well. They grew tall, we went on holiday, came back to flowers which turned into pea pods. The pods filled up nicely, then Seth and I picked them and podded them and they are now in our freezer. We managed to grow two broccoli plants, which we have eaten – the rest, unfortunately got eaten by something else!

We have got a few blueberries from our bush that I totally neglect, and our Apple tree… well if you’ve been following my blog you’ll know all about that! It’s inspired both art and my Frozen Challenge. The challenge is going well and I should get the freezer emptied and defrosted ready for the gallons of apple sauce later this month.

Have you been growing your own or are you thinking of having a go? I came across this competition with a fab ‘grow your own’ prize. All you have to do is:

… tell us about something you’ve grown (or plan on growing) in your garden or allotment this year. Send us a picture, write us a story or a poem – tell us how you’ve been helping for your chance of winning a Primary Science Plant & Grow Set from Learning Resources!

All the information on how to enter is on the Wildlife Watch website here. The deadline is the end of November so there’s plenty of time to get your entries in. Good luck and I’d love to see your entries if you have a go.

Life Unexpected
4 thoughts on “Home Grown

  1. Wow! It looks great! You definitely seem to have the knack for growing fantastic fruit and veg! Most of ours was eaten by slugs this year, but we’re planning on more slug defence for next year, fingers crossed it works. Thanks for letting me know about the competition too, we love all the Primary Science sets.
    Thank you very much for linking up to #Whatevertheweather 🙂 x

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I really want to have a little vegetable patch to work on with my daughter. We’re definitely going to start one up. The competition sounds fab as well. I’m a bit of a newbie to growing things so I hope it’s a lot easier than it looks. Mmmm strawberry vodka! That sounds so interesting! I’m off to have a read of that post. Thank you so much for linking to #whatevertheweather x

    Like

  3. Wow. You’ve done so well. We get over-run with slugs and snails here so all my attempts have been eaten. My only success has been gooseberries, which I completely neglect at the bottom of the garden. You are inspiring me to have another go next year.

    Like

    1. I wasn’t good at slug patrol this year so we lost most of our broccoli. With everything being in raised beds, it helps. I used that anti slug copper tape but it hasn’t stopped them this time. All my sunflowers and tomato plants got finished off by strong winds x

      Like

Leave a Reply

