Beach hut birthday party

Beach hut
Our beach hut

My Mum lives in St Anne’s and since the boys were born, we see their Grandma every week without fail. More often than not she comes to us via good old public transport (it takes her about two hours door-to-door but she doesn’t care) or we drive over to St Anne’s to see her. Since they first arrived on the Promenade, we’ve been walking past the St Anne’s Beach Huts on a fairly regular basis, through all weathers, in all seasons. In anticipation of Seth’s birthday, in the depths of winter, I decided to book a beach hut for his big day this summer.

In hindsight, it wasn’t the best idea with my husband Glenn’s injury and a last minute three day training course I had to attend the same week, to say I stretched myself thinly is an understatement. Seth wanted a Pirate party, but with a Pintrest board full of ideas after months of ‘pinning’, I only managed a few of the things I had come up with. But it didn’t matter. We all rocked up to the coast in gale force winds and really enjoyed his special day!

The beach hut was fab. It was beautifully presented and was fully equipped with a kitchenette (cutlery, crockery, microwave, sink, fridge, kettle, water), table and bench seat. It had a decked area out the front with four outside chairs. We borrowed a wheelie truck to get all our stuff from the car park and down the promenade, and of course back again. We had a key to access the facilities just a short walk away. There isn’t direct access to the beach; there’s a ramp a little further down the prom but this wasn’t a problem as we were in a big group so could take it in turns to go along with the kids. Sandcastles, kites, ball games and a couple of rounds of good old pass-the-parcel in the beach hut all made for a great party despite the windy weather.

Fizz
Cheers

My favourite part of the day was tucking my son’s up in bed at their Grandma’s then heading back to the beach hut for a relaxing evening with fish and chips in paper and a chilled bottle of fizz! Looking out over the beach, I spared more than a thought for my late Dad. He loved St Anne’s, his home town and I hope my boys will love it too.

I can really recommend St Anne’s Beach Hut day rental and I will definitely do it again soon.

If you’re planning your own Pirate party, take a look at my Pinterest board. I’d love to know it had helped someone out!

Follow blog on Bloglovin
2 thoughts on “Beach hut birthday party

Leave a Reply

